July Buddha Bowl (w/eggplant bacon rolls)

I’ve never tried to convert anyone to my way of eating, nor do I have any intentions to do so. I think that healthy living is a decision that must be reached on its own, for whatever reasons. At the same time, I find that more and more people ask for advice- or recommendations….some of my friends are simply curious as to how and what I eat and why. Many times, these questions turn into conversations and conversations become invitations to my house to try out my food- or to play around in the kitchen together.

As any vegetarian/vegan knows, we do not just eat grilled vegetables and minestrone soup. By no means are our diets boring or tasteless. Vegan cooking is invigorating- it’s inventive and exciting. There are endless possibilities, tricks and flavor combinations. I know I learn more every day I spend in the kitchen.

Admit it; vegan food (ALL vegan food), but especially Buddha bowls are much more colorful and beautiful than a brown steak with brown sauce and browned potatoes. Come on!

IMG_7404

Below are the recipes for a Buddha bowl I made this weekend.

Buddha Bowl:

Layers/Sections:

  • Bed of baby mesclun greens
  • Zucchini sautéed with Tropea onion and extra virgin olive oil (just slice the zucchini, heat about 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan, add some chopped onion. Stir the onion until it becomes translucent, add the zucchini. Stir until the zucchini softens and browns a bit. Turn the heat off, add salt to taste and drizzle a bit of olive oil on top).
  • Cherry tomato and baby onion salad with olive oil and oregano. (This is a Napolitano classic that my husband always makes in the summertime and has quickly become one of my favorites. Simply slice the cherry tomatoes in four and chop the baby onion *cipollina. Mix together with abundant extra virgin olive oil, dried oregano and Himalayan salt to taste. I normally use my hands to mix together but a spoon is fine. You can also add a bit of lemon which is super fresh and adds a hint of acidity)
  • Maple and balsamic marinated tempeh pieces. Recipe here:
  • Eggplant bacon (recipe here: Eggplant Bacon Recipe) stuffed with spicy Mexican cashew cheese (recipe here: Spicy Cashew Cheese Sauce)
  • Served with (the bowl in the middle), avocado pesto. (For the avocado pesto, just process together two ripe avocadoes (skin and seed removed), 1 cup packed basil leaves, 1/3 cup pine nuts, just from ½ lemon, 2 tbsp nutritional yeast, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Then add water until desired consistency is reached. I used my vitamix.)

 

And…..ENJOY!!!! J

Leave a comment